You know we belong together…

10 09 2007

Australian soaps formed part of my entire childhood, early adulthood and university existence.  Neighbours and Home and Away in particular were daily glimpse of sun, romance, comedy and silliness.  On my list of ‘top 10 things I hate about working’ is that watching these shows was no longer possible.  That was until I remembered Sky +.  I watched one episode of Home and Away during my recent month off from working and I was re-hooked.  I had to call my mum (who still watched both shows) to understand the various plot / character intricasies (I needed answers to such questions as “if A and B are in love why are A and C married and why do C and D have a very new child together”).  I have been particularly following the Rachel/Hugh storyline although I am already getting the feeling that Hugh will be leaving imminently and thus proving that these shows are totally unrealistic and do things that drive the viewers crazy.  Hugh is yummmmmmmy and therefore doomed to leave.

I have managed to steer clear of Neighbours so far (although I did see that Paul Robinson is back – crazy!).

Other Australian/New Zealand shows I have known and loved:

  • Blue Heelers (so many sexy cops!)
  • Flying Doctors (charlie victor victor)
  • Shortland Street (that guy ended up in loads of big films including Star Wars as a clone – bizarre!)
  • The Secret Life of Us
  • Snowy River: The McGregor Saga (oh Guy Pearce, Josh Lucas, need  go on..?)
  • Heartbreak High (I recently learned that the guy that played Drazic who aside from being very cute was involved in a near-fatal car accident and was left partially blind.  He was in Home and Away earlier this year.)

I must have missed some.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

