Mutant Enemy

4 07 2007

It’s been a while, I know, but I am thinking I will start writing on this blog again.  My love for TV has never wavered, you will be pleased to learn and I have been watching plenty so should have lots to talk about.

I recently discovered Dark Angel (why do I always get really into these programmes AFTER they have been cancelled!?).  The SciFi Channel has just finished showing the whole series.  There are flaws in it, to be sure, but I am a sucker for a sci-fi heroine and the show had a good mix of romance and action.  HOWEVER.  Why on earth did they continue with the whole ‘Max can’t touch Logan without killing him’ thing?  I can only assume they were hoping for a thrid series to sort it all out.  Or that they are cynical and loveless fools.  I really am a hopeless romantic so I like it when the lead girl and the lead boy actually GET IT ON at some point.

I have also got myself a new crush – fairly inevitable when I watch a TV show with a good looking man – Michael Weatherly.  He played Logan in Dark Angel and now stars in NCIS.  Naturally, this means I have started watching this.  In fact, I am watching two different seasons since it is being shown on FX and Five.  You gotta love Sky +!  I really like me a detective type show and this one is pretty cool.  The investigations are quirky, the characters’ chemistry really works and, well, Michael Weatherly is in it, like I said.  His character, Tony Dinozzo, is either a loveable rogue or complete misogynist.  Since MW is so cute, I am going with loveable rogue.  Because I have no shame.

I have also just purchased Angel Season 2  boxset and the Firefly series.  I am totally in love with Joss Whedon.  I have never really watched Firefly – I gave it a shot a while back but after watching (and liking) Serenity, I am looking forward to seeing the whole series.

In other Whedon news, I am just about to watch the final episode of Buffy for the gagillionth time.   I have also subscribed to the new Buffy Season 8 comic, written by Joss, which makes me officially a bone fide Buffy-nerd.  The comic is fantastic – great art work and and dialogue.  The Whedon touch makes it very authentic.  The comic is a ‘what happened next’ for all the die-hard fans who have suffered a great loss since the series finished: Dawn’s a giant!  Xander’s a Watcher!  Amy is evil!  Warren is ‘alive’ (sans skin)!

Another new programme I have discovered is What About Brian.  I watched an episode mid-season and noticed that Jabrams (JJ Abrams of Alias and Lost fame) is the executive producer.  I was not disappointed.  Perfect light entertainment.

I was starting to worry I wasn’t going to have anything to watch after the season finales of ER, Ugly Betty, Lost, and 24 but what with all this viewing and Big Brother 8 (I know, I know but I can’t help it), it looks like I will survive after all!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

