Truth be told

29 09 2006

Over five seasons of hot spy action and hot spy lovin’, Alias was a masterclass of action TV. It had everything: intrigue; wigs; fighting; kissing; gadgets; humour; brilliant twists and plotlines (well, until JJ Abrams got bored and started working on Lost). I really, really love this show and having had my fill (for the time being at least) of Pacey and the gang, I thought the best cure for my DC addiction was some Alias.

So last night I sat and enjoyed the fantastic pilot episode. I actually think this pilot is the best for any show I have ever seen. Lost had a spectacular pilot and all but this one has so much heart as well as the wow factor. Plus superb costumes, excellent fight scenes, torture (Syd: “I’m your worst enemy Ive got nothing to lose” Suit and Glasses: “Thats not exactly true, you have teeth” (bleugh)), friendships, love, romance, a creepy boss (Sloane rocks, by the way). And for about 2 minutes, the hottest CIA agent you will ever see.

My first thought as the episode starts is how cute Jennifer Garner looks. She looks so young with her hair shoulder length. And Sydney, her character, is so innocent. She has no idea what is about to happen to her.

truth-be-told-213.jpeg

At one point, she is talking about her engagement to her best friend, Francie, and Francie says “You’re mum would be so happy for you” and I think, Oh god! She still thinks her mum is dead. And that her name is Laura. And that she is not an international terrorist badass. Poor Sydney!

And then they talk about her father (AW SPYDADDY!) and Syd totally dismisses him and I think, Syd! Your dad is the greatest!

Ah… she will learn…

Another scene I just love is when Danny calls Spydaddy (AKA Jack) to ask for his blessing and he is acerbic and sharp and utterly hilarious:

Jack: Danny, let me ask you a question.
Danny: Sure.
Jack: How well do you know my daughter?
Danny:Um, we’ve been dating for two years…
Jack: Because if you feel the need to ask me about this scenario, I have a sense you don’t know Sydney at all.
Danny: Sir, I love your daughter and I want to marry her. That’s why I’m calling.
Jack: First of all, Danny, the truth is this is just a courtesy call. Like when you say to your neighbor, “We’re having a loud party on Saturday night if that’s all right with you.” What you really mean is, “We’re having a loud party on Saturday night.”
Danny:Mr. Bristow–
Jack:Sydney doesn’t give a damn what my opinion is. What interests me is that you do.
Danny: It’s just a custom to call the father, that’s all this is–
Jack: Well, then, I’ll tell you what. I may become your father-in-law, that’s just fine. But I will not be used as part of a charming little anecdote you tell your friends at cocktail parties so they can see what a quaint, old-fashioned guy Danny really is. Are we clear?
Danny:Yes, sir…
Jack:Good. Then welcome to the family.

Totally class.

It also surprises me to remember how Will so was NOT hot at the beginning. I mean, he probably was but his hair completely did him no favours. It’s HUGE! And bleached. In the commentary, they say that they dyed Bradley Cooper’s hair so that the viewing audience (we are apparently not at all smart according to Bad Robot/ABC) would not be able to differentiate between him and Vaughn. So hang on, Sydney has a friend called Will. And then she meets a CIA agent called Michael Vaughn. No wait, I am confused. Who is who again??? Jeeeeez.

When I first watched this programme I was far too eager to see Vartan and pretty much ignored Will/BC but he actually is a really cool character. I don’t get how the fans hated him (which they apparently did for ages). In the scene where she tells him she is engaged he pulls this really sad but totally brilliant face which says “FUCK! That sucks ASS” but he actually manages a feeble “Wait a minute. You’re wearing a–you’re wearing a ring. I didn’t even see it. That’s… congratulations.” AWW. Will loves Sydney.

As the episode progresses, I find myself yelling at my TV screen things like “Oh Sydney, don’t tell Danny. You’re not in the CIA. It’s some freakass terrorist organisation posing as the CIA and by telling him, you have unwittingly just got him killed…”

On the first mission we see, Sydney looks gorge in her red sparkley dress and flicky hair and southern accent. But on her return, I have to endure the saddest scene of the season. I wish I could say the series but this is just the start of a whole slew of tragic events that will test our protagonist. When she finds Danny dead and bloody in the bath it is just heartbreaking. Jennifer Garner nailed this scene. It is so real.

One of the main reasons behind the success of this show is Jennifer. I think she really sold this character. Sydney has guts. She is brave but also vunerable. She is clever but not perfect. She is beautiful but she doesn’t seem to notice. So often girls are threatened by beautiful and accomplished women but for some reason, it is completely impossible not to love JG and Sydney. She’s a fantastic role model.

And then finally, there is Vaughn. And he walks into my life carrying a doughnut. What more can a girl ask for?

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 01 2008
In the beginning, there was a red wig. « square eyes

[…] there is Vaughn. And he walks into my life carrying a doughnut. What more can a girl ask for? Originally posted 29th September 2006  […]

3 04 2009
In the beginning, there was a red wig. « all five horizons

[…] Originally posted 29th September 2006     […]

Leave a Reply

